GMAT Accommodations – Not Very Accommodating

This is one of those “I wish I knew this earlier” moments. I read on mbaapplicant.com that GMAC and Pearson are able to offer accommodations such as extra time, longer breaks, etc. I had already registered for the test so figured I would look into this later. After registering for my second attempt I reached out to the accommodations department to see if I could get extra time or extra breaks on the exam. I don’t disclose it often but I am a veteran diagnosed with PTSD and a few other physical disabilities. While I don’t let it define me, I know it’s there and something I live with. Taking a test in an enclosed room with no way out and uncomfortable chairs hunched over a computer screen definitely reminds me it’s there . So, after hearing about the accommodations I figured it was worth a shot.

I sent a request a couple weeks before my second attempt. I was hoping there was a way to get it done quickly because I didn’t know about it earlier. The accommodations department emailed me back stating that it usually takes 3-4 weeks and there is no expedited services available. I am on a time crunch so that news was unfortunate. My third attempt is on September 28 so I won’t be able to get accommodations for that either. The challenging part is that you have to submit the request, submit all documentation (they are very thorough), and submit payment information. They then schedule the test for you.

As I look back it might have been useful to request accommodations earlier. However, I can go into my MBA applications knowing that I earned whatever my score through hard work, not special treatment. There are people with serious disabilities who don’t know about the accommodations. Giving these people the chance to overcome their disabilities and not be defined by them seems to make sense. I will post some links below for the prosperity of future generations.

Official mba.com accommodations page – This page has the documentation guidelines and application.

Manhattan Prep accommodations discussion – Stacey Koprince’s post based on conversations with two official GMAT Accommodations officials and Tova Elberg, a clinical psychologist. Very useful.

Veritas Prep accommodation summary – Good overview and sage advice: Don’t wait until the last minute to apply for accommodations.

Official PDF guide and application for accommodations – Definitely get this after reading the mba.com link above.

 

 

 

 

 

One comment

  1. I’m sorry they weren’t able to accommodate you. It does sound like a very long and arduous process though. To be honest, I wasn’t even aware that this was possible so I’m sure it’s going to help a lot of people out there!

Leave a Reply

