Starting Late: GMAT

From what I have read the GMAT is the single most important piece in the application process.

Since I am starting late I will recap where I am so far. I took the GMAT a couple of weeks ago. Prior the the GMAT I had an intense 2 week study session where I thought I had a solid understanding of the requirements. I have always been decent at standardized tests so with a little review I figured I could do decent and gauge where I needed improvement.. First, I ran out of time on the math section. I have less than 5 minutes left with 6 questions to go. I read somewhere that it’s better to answer questions than to leave blanks. I guess on a couple and chose the best looking answer on the others. The results were an eye-opener. Verbal: 91st percentile, Math: 29th percentile. Overall score a sad 610. Not elite MBA results.

I am registered for August 28th and have time to study between now and then (small benefit of being between jobs). That gives me a month to get my quantitative in order and pick up a few points on the verbal. Most of the math covered makes sense to me so it’s just practicing and working on mastering data sufficiency. I have a realistic goal of 740. At least it’s realistic in my mind 🙂

Materials I will be using for GMAT study:

Manhattan Prep Quantitative Book Series (6 online practice tests)

Magoosh Online GMAT Prep (customized practice tests – at least 2)

Official GMAT Guide 2015 (of course) (2 practice tests with additional question banks available)

 

If I have time I will review each product. So far the Magoosh product has been the most useful.

One comment

Leave a Reply

